Reviews

Emily Senecal’s writing gives readers compelling, well-constructed plots that bring us deep into the lives of complex characters, and her narratives are accentuated by artistic imagery and a vivid sense of setting. The result is highly readable fiction that stays with the reader, writing one could classify as literary fiction just as easily as mystery.

– Zack O’Neill – University of Houston Writing Fellow, former editor-in-chief of Yemassee Literary Journal

 

r reviewed An Empty House (Sliding Sideways Mystery Book 10)

loved it

March 31, 2015
Brilliant read. Have read the whole series!!cant wait for the next one! Exactly what I love in a book. Less romance and more mystery in this one but it worked well.

 

Ruth Swaim reviewed An Empty House (Sliding Sideways Mystery Book 10)

What a good summer read!

May 15, 2016
The never predictable plot keeps you reading until done. Mystery lovers will enjoy this one. Emily Senegal [sic] is a gifted writer who draws you to her every book.

 

Customer review from Amazon.co.uk
Strangers on This Road (Sliding Sideways Mystery #1) (Kindle Edition)
5.0 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars
April 7, 2013
By Jay Robin
I read the first 3 books in the series in the first couple of days of my holiday. They were engaging and well written. I cared about the characters and their story almost immediately. The stories themselves work very well and keep you interested to the final page. I can definitely recommend these books to anyone who likes mystery and intrigue with a little romance on the side. I’m off to buy the next in the series, as I can’t wait to see what happens next!

 

Customer review from Amazon.co.uk

“Another brilliant book in this series”

The Heartbroken Brides (Sliding Sideways Mystery #4) (Kindle Edition)
5.0 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars
April 25, 2013
By Jay Robin
I think I like these books more with each one I read. The characters are so brilliantly written that I feel I could meet them on the street, and the story is extremely well written. This author is rapidly becoming one of my favourites.

 

Customer review from Amazon.co.uk

This series keeps getting better!

Death on the Menu (Sliding Sideways Mystery #5) (Kindle Edition)
5.0 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars
May 1, 2013
By Jay Robin
I was a bit worried reading the synopsis for this book as it was departing from Lainey and Aiden being the lead characters, within a few pages I realised this didn’t matter at all. Emily Senecal is brilliant at bringing the characters to life and the story telling is very engaging. Another winner as far as I’m concerned.
For those of you that love Lainey and Aiden don’t worry they do make an appearance, even if it’s just on the end of a phone.
.
.

Customer review from Amazon.com
Strangers on This Road (Sliding Sideways Mystery #1) (Kindle Edition)
5.0 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars
July 6, 2013
By far from home
I got these books as freebies and started reading the series withough [sic] any great expectations. I was thoroughly enthralled by the series – the story, the writing, the characters. I am attracted to series where the characters are people who become my friends. Lainey and the others in the books have definitely become people I want to spend more time with. I stayed up last night to finish reading the first 3 books without stopping. Lainey is 18, innocent, yet self reliant at the same time; she has her head on straight; while she comes from a dysfunctional family and has not developed many close friendships as a result of that, she learned to choose her few close friends wisely. She gets thrown into an unexpected chance meeting with someone who she immediately trusts not to harm her. I highly recommend these books at any price! Strangers on This Road (Sliding Sideways Mystery #1) Danger in Academia (Sliding Sideways Mystery #2) Enemy at the Wedding (Sliding Sideways Mystery #3)

 

Customer Review from Amazon.com
“Strangers on This Road”
5.0 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars
July 10, 2012
By Cynthia Jean Meyer
Finished this book in one excellently restful weekend. It was a perfect book to take a break from real life and get lost in. If you’ve ever been to Catalina Island, the scenes in this book will have you imagining that you’re there with the breeze and the boats. The characters are very likeable and I found that I could relate to each of them, although they are very different from each other and from me. The plot is incredibly involving, and every loose end was tied. I appreciated that a lot of research must have gone into the story. There is another book in this series coming out soon, so I’m eager to dive into it, too!

 

Customer review from Amazon.com
“Strangers on This Road” (A Sliding Sideways Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
5.0 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars

July 24, 2012
By Jean Meyer
It’s always exciting to find a good new mystery/romance novel, and to find what promises to be the start of a series is even better. I liked the humor and intelligent commentary as well as the blend of romance and mystery in Strangers on this Road.
The characters are interesting individuals who left me wanting more — the next installment or adventure to come.
Emily Senecal is definitely a writer I will follow.